Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Hurricanes beat Blues in Auckland

Article Published: Friday 23 March 2012

Email Article | Print Article | Click here to Bet 10 and Get 20 in Rugby Bets

The last two Super Rugby matches between the Blues and the Hurricanes were both won by the Blues. However, in the 2012 tournament the Hurricanes have been averaging the most tries per game and have been scoring in about half the time that the Blues have been.

Match details

We are waiting for the kick-off.
1.00: Piri Weepu gets proceedings under way as he kicks off for the home side.
2.00: The Blues have the first chance to attack but Alby Matthewson spills the ball and the Hurricanes get a turnover. Frenetic rugby on half way as both teams end up making handling errors.
4.00: The Blues earn a penalty on their 22 and Weepu kicks for touch.
6.00: The Blues are awarded another penalty but this time it is about 30m out. Jack Lam is penalised for offside and Lachie Munro will take a shot at goal.
7.00: Munro bangs over the kick to give the Blues an early lead.
10.00: The Blues are on attack and have an opportunity to gain momentum within the Hurricanes' half. A poor offload by the Blues sees the Hurricanes get a boot on the ball and Andre Taylor chases. The Hurricanes drive the Blues over the line, resulting in a 5m scrum for the visitors.
13.00: The Blues get a throw in at a lineout on the Hurricanes' 22. They look to set up a maul and are just 5m from the line.
15.00: Ma'a Nonu dots down for the opening try of the game.
16.00: Munro adds 2 with a successful conversion.
17.00: The Hurricanes reciprocate immediately. Julian Savea makes a brilliant offload to Taylor, who runs 50m to score for the visitors.
18.00: Beauden Barrett converts the try.
19.00: The Hurricanes are awarded a penalty within their own half and kick for touch. They gain momentum off the back of their lineout.
22.00: The Blues are awarded a penalty as the Hurricanes go off their feet. Munro bangs over the kick to extend the Blues' lead.
25.00: The Hurricanes are penalised for going off their feet again. Weepu kicks for touch and the home side will get a throw in at a lineout 22m out.
29.00: The Hurricanes are working through phases on half way but Jack Lam knocks on and the Blues will get the put in at the scrum.
31.00: Savea makes a break up the touch line for the Hurricanes but Nonu tackles him into touch. The Hurricanes win the Blues' lineout and start building phases within the Blues' half.
32.00: Cory Jane scores his third try of the tournament after a classy kick into the corner by Taylor.
34.00: Barrett misses the conversion and the Blues hold onto their lead.
36.00: The Blues are awarded a penalty as the Hurricanes are ruled offside. Munro's kick sails over and the Blues extend their lead.
39.00: The Hurricanes build momentum and two classy kicks by Tim Bateman and Conrad Smith sees Smith gather and dot down directly underneath the posts.
40.00: The hooter sounds as Barrett converts the try.
The half time score is Blues 16 Hurricanes 19.
40.00: Barrett kicks off the second half. The visitors gain momentum early on.
41.00: The Blues are awarded a penalty and are able to clear the ball. The Blues' lineout woes continue as the Hurricanes are able to win yet another lineout against the throw.
44.00: The Blues are dominating in the scrums and earn themselves a penalty just on half way. Munro takes a shot at goal and the scores are now tied at 19-all.
48.00: The Blues gain momentum and work their way up into the visitors' 22 but handling errors are costing them at crucial moments and they knock-on once again. The Hurricanes get the put in at the scrum but the home side puts in a massive effort to win back the ball.
51.00: The Blues are awarded a penalty directly in front of the uprights and Munro will line up the kick.
52.00: Munro bangs over the kick and the home side regain the lead.
55.00: The Hurricanes are penalised for holding on and Munro will kick for posts from close to 50m out on the touch line.
56.00: Munro's kick is short and the scoreline remains unchanged at 22-19.
57.00: The Hurricanes have conceded eight penalties in their own half and this is starting to cost them. They are penalised yet again and Munro bangs a kick over the sticks to increase the Blues' lead.
62.00: The Hurricanes get a throw in at the lineout, 10m into the Blues' half. They work through several phases but are penalised for going off their feet and Weepu kicks for touch.
65.00: The Blues are penalised for playing the ball on the ground and  Barrett will take a kick at goal.
66.00: Barrett misses the kick and the Blues still retain their 6-point lead.
68.00: The Hurricanes build momentum off a strong scrum and are able to gain about 25m. They spill the ball, however, and Nonu tries to run the ball before being scragged by a Hurricanes defender.
73.00: The Blues are gaining momentum and work through over 15 phases but are penalised and the Hurricanes kick for touch.
78.00: The Hurricanes are on the attack from just inside their own half. They are desperate to score in the last minute and continue to build phases.
79.00: A brilliant break by Beauden Barrett and an offload to Conrad Smith sees the captain run 30m to score in the dying seconds.
80.00: Barrett kicks the match-winning conversion and the Hurricanes snatch a victory at Eden Park.
The full time score is Blues 25 (16) Hurricanes 26 (19)


Tries - M. Nonu
Pen - L. Munro 6
Con - L. Munro
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - A. Taylor, C. Jane, C. Smith 2
Pen -
Con - B. Barrett 3
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Referee: Steve Walsh
Assistant Referee 1: Jonathan White
Assistant Referee 2: Ben Skeen
TMO: Bryce Lawrence



1. Tony Woodcock, 2. Tom McCartney, 3. Charlie Faumuina, 4. Liaki Moli, 5. Ali Williams, 6. Chris Lowrey, 7. Daniel Braid (c), 8. Brad Mika, 9. Alby Mathewson, 10. Piri Weepu, 11. Rudi Wulf, 12. Ma'a Nonu, 13. Benson Stanley, 14. David Raikuna, 15. Lachie Munro.

Replacements : 16. James Parsons, 17. Tevita Mailau, 18. Filo Paulo, 19. Sean Polwart, 20. Gareth Anscombe, 21. Michael Hobbs, 22. Hadleigh Parkes.


1. Ben May, 2. Dane Coles, 3. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 4. Jeremy Thrush, 5. Jason Eaton, 6. Faifili Levave, 7. Jack Lam, 8. Victor Vito, 9. TJ Perenara, 10. Beauden Barrett, 11. Julian Savea, 12. Tim Bateman, 13. Conrad Smith (c), 14. Cory Jane, 15. Andre Taylor.

Replacements: 16. Motu Matu'u, 17. Michael Bent, 18. James Broadhurst, 19. Brad Shields, 20. Chris Eaton, 21. Daniel Kirkpatrick, 22. Charlie Ngatai.

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news